Academy of Sciences

Science in the Service of Washington State

Date: July 20, 2015 Contact: Sherri Willoughby Washington State Academy of Sciences 360-534-2321, wsas.programs@wsu.edu

For Immediate Release:

WASHINTON STATE ACADEMY OF SCIENCES WELCOMES 24 NEW MEMBERS Olympia – The

Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS) today announced that 24 new members have been accepted in recognition of their outstanding record of scientific achievement and willingness to work on behalf of the Academy in bringing the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington. Nineteen of them were elected by their WSAS peers and five were invited by their election to one of the National Academies. The new members will be inducted into the WSAS during the eighth annual meeting at the Seattle Museum of Flight on September 17, 2015. The newly elected bring the total number of active members to 240.

Individuals elected by virtue of their election into the United States National Academies; National Academy of Sciences (NAS), National Academy of Engineering (NAE), and National Academy of Medicine (NOM):

Sue Biggins, Associate Director, Division of Basic Sciences, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, (NAS) George "Bud" Homsy, Affiliate Professor, University of Washington, (NAE) Eric Larson, Executive Director, Group Health Research Institute, (NAM) Radia J. Perlman, Fellow, EMC Corporation, (NAE) Richard Szeliski, Distinguished Scientist, Microsoft Research, (NAE)

Individuals elected by the WSAS membership:

Gustavo V. Barbosa-Canovas, Professor of Food Engineering, Washington State University Shirley Anne Alexander Beresford, Professor of Epidemiology, University of Washington **Cecilia M. Bitz,** *Professor, University of Washington* Dedra Stefanie Buchwald, Professor, Epidemiology and Medicine, University of Washington Trisha Davis, Professor and Chair, University of Washington James De Yoreo, Chief Scientist, Materials Synthesis and Simulations, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Daniel R. Gamelin, Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry, University of Washington Jay Giri, Director, Alstom Grid Anthony G. Greenwald, Professor, Psychology, University of Washington **Raymond Huey,** Professor Emeritus of Biology, University of Washington Patricia Ann Hunt, Meyer Distinguished Professor, Washington State University Janet Jansson, Biological Sciences Division Director, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Kannan Krishnan, Professor of Materials Science, Adjunct Professor of Physics, University of Washington Ramulu Mamidala, Boeing Pennell Professor of Engineering, University of Washington Ross Matsueda, Blumstein-Jordan Endowed Professor of Sociology, University of Washington Alan Bruce Montgomery, President and CEO, Cardeas Pharma W. Sue Ritter, Regents Professor, Washington State University **Linda Teri,** *Professor, University of Washington* **Yong Wang,** Laboratory Fellow, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory